Quote

TODAY IS THE BEST DAY, YOU HAVE ARRIVED! BE BRAVE! LIVE YOUR BEST LIFE!

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.
-Mark Twain

Thursday, we have almost made it through the week. Friday’s everyone seems to feel relieved, weekend is around the corner and much-needed time to hit the refresh button finally arrives. Turn off the alarms which so abruptly wake us. Some, however work on the weekends and thus this doesn’t apply. I do not know why we cant call Monday’s the new weekend. Oh well, it is what it is as we say in my home. Make the best of what is in front of you.

I was thinking last night, as I was trying to watch my most favorite TV shows, doesn’t feel like there is enough time in the day to catch up on all the new seasons starting back up! Must mean it is time to start filling nights with TV, weather gets chilly and people tuck themselves into their homes and settle in with fuzzy slippers and comfortable flannels. Best time of year! Long skirts,jeans,sweaters and you can still wear your, flip-flops,and open toed shoes! I love this weather! Blue skies, gray skies, angry skies, oh and the breeze !!!  Slight crisp feeling in the air! It reminds me I am still alive!

  ………………………………………………………………………………………………………    .  “THIS IS WHAT AUTUMN FEELS LIKE TO ME!”

   I need to remind myself, grab a book, and a cup of coffee .

  A  good book, or a Kindle in hand, don’t forget your glasses! …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… Ever experience this?

  MY “middle ” often calls me up when she is engrossed in a book, we often talk about how sad it is when a great story comes to a close.

Go sit outside, before too long it will be too cold so relish in it while you can! TV can wait till the sun goes down but while the sun is awake so must I be. My windows are open as I sit in my office, The blinds are up and a slight chill runs through the room  and I love it! I haven’t felt this alive in a long time. (I had forgotten I mattered). So I will make sure every day counts. I will spend time enjoying what is in-front of me and not waste one single day!

When I was younger, and my children were small, days like today we came inside for dinner, the rest of our day and into the early evening we played outdoors. We took long walks, let our kites soar above the clouds.We spent many a day stretched out on our front lawn watching the sky and telling stories in the clouds.

How does one look at clouds and not see all that is possible? Starring up at the clouds that seem to just linger somewhere in the middle of nowhere and everywhere. The world seems full of possibilities. Some days if you look up it feels like you can almost reach up and steal a cloud from the sky. “Stick one in your pocket for good luck”, Id tell my children. “Can you find a castle in the sky ?”I would ask them.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….. What do you see?………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Where shall we go today and how will we get there? Never leaving the grass we were laying on. Castles are always in the sky, you just have to look for them. People too often just give up if they cannot see something in a split second. Precious moments sometimes means just lying on your back and closing your eyes and breathe. Fell what surrounds us, its amazing world out here. Beauty is everywhere, though some days it gets hidden with the daily grind, pain, and busy busy busy, never stopping to look up from a phone or a computer. Go outside look up…look at.. there is beauty everywhere even in the midst of a world that seems to take more than it gives. “If you want it go get it!” that’s what I tell my children.

The night sky is stunning! That’s the world we live in, that’s our sky! Cherish it! Don’t be afraid to just sit and look up now and then and see what is out here.

 ……………………………………………………………SHOOTING  STARS ACROSS THE SKY….. ……THIS IS OUR UNIVERSE ! HOW INCREDIBLE IS THAT ?………………………………………………………………………………….

                      The Universe is a stunning precious painting. We need to be careful with works of art. That’s the world we live in, take care of it, take care of each other. YOU matter!

The world is remarkable. It is not always easy, it is never free, people pay a price, there is always a price. People have fought hard for the freedoms we so easily take for granted. (I try hard not to do that). I know how precious life can be it can be taken away in a flash! It is a delicate balance between what is and what can be. The question one needs to ask themselves is, what are you willing to pay? What will the effects be? Can you look yourself in the mirror and say,” I am OK with me?” You need to be able to say that. Every day and every night when you crawl into your bed it is YOU you have to face and YOU that you sleep with. My grandmother used to say to me all the time , “you made your bed now you have to sleep in it.” I changed that around a bit , when my children were young it was important to me that they understand the meaning of that statement. However, I wanted them to understand it starts with them. This is what I say, “MAKE THE BED THAT YOU WANT TO SLEEP IN”  ” Make  your bed like the life you want, BEAUTIFUL!  INVITING!  PROUD!” In my family we start our day by making our beds. It is the best way to start your day. Straightening up  your bed and making it beautiful, inviting even, (while I understand will get messy later)  is a lovely way to begin ones day. When we start each day with freshly made beds, something we can be proud of, and something we can look forward to at the end of our day.. Everything thing in between is what follows…… I like to think that is a very good way to start.

Which bed would you want to start and end your day with? Me, frankly, I love the way a freshly made bed feels and even on the days I don’t leave my home I always make the bed as my coffee is brewing!

With that I will say, CARPE DIEM! ( LATIN meaning “enjoy the day” ) today most people when saying this mean” Seize the day”Though the true roots of this phrase meant, “I pick I pluck , gather eat food, serve, etc.” either way it is what I do each day my feet hit the ground. I keep saying every day, “once my feet hit the floor, I am up, the day is mine, I can still get myself upright and that my friends is a very good day!

Some days are better than others,( even in Australia)  today it is beautiful outside, Fall is in the air, I plan to enjoy it the best I can. I have a good book that I am dying  to finish, I am going to rest up a little, my bones are nagging at me “rest already” . It has been a thrilling week spending time writing and listening to my soul. It is also exhausting, emotional and sometimes unhappy. For the most part though, I am enjoying myself with a trip down memory lane of my life, my journey and how I got to be here. I am alive and I am happy ! How in the world did that ever happen?

…..with a little luck and a lot of getting back up again refusing to allow others to dictate the print of my fabric, and so, I am here!  You can hears me roar!

Katey Perry sings it best:

Thank you for coming with me on this fine , beautiful day, look around,  see whats out there, say hello to someone, get outside, curl up with a book, walk your dog, kiss the head of your child,hug your sweetheart, do something that makes you feel ALIVE! Smile at the vision you see in the mirror! YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL!

Thinking on seizing the day!

Thinking on seizing the day!

As always, thank you for coming for another days adventure and an another days thoughts.

  • Robin~ a simple bird.
2 thoughts on “TODAY IS THE BEST DAY, YOU HAVE ARRIVED! BE BRAVE! LIVE YOUR BEST LIFE!

  1. You’re right I don’t much think about the beauty of the world around me. Thank-You for tonight’s gift’s they were beautiful to behold. Love You Robin!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

