Aside

“Do what you feel in your heart to be right, for you’ll be criticized anyway.” -Eleanor Roosevelt

I have been saying to my children ,as long as I can recall each and every morning as they walked out my front door off to school;

“LEARN LOTS, MAKE MONEY, DO THE RIGHT THING!”

It is easier said then done most of the time, but to me, once you know what the right thing to do it is very hard to ignore that little voice we each have inside us.

Do whats right!

Listen to that voice!

“Life is an opportunity, benefit from it.
Life is beauty, admire it.
Life is a dream, realize it.
Life is a challenge, meet it.
Life is a duty, complete it.
Life is a game, play it.
Life is a promise, fulfill it.
Life is sorrow, overcome it.
Life is a song, sing it.
Life is a struggle, accept it.
Life is a tragedy, confront it.
Life is an adventure, dare it.
Life is luck, make it.
Life is life, fight for it.”

Can anyone guess who wrote this?

I know who said it, I have tried hard to live by these simple rules. It seemed to work best when I did. No one ever said it would be easy. Easy means you might never appreciate all its glory.

I say,

APPRECIATE IT!

I have painted the sky 1000.000 times with my children and granddaughter, and many times alone. It is a beautiful world because were in it. Take time and care. I try.

I have been thinking a lot the past few days about what it is that makes me who I am.

Some-days I have no clue! I am just winging it and praying for the best.

If I am lucky maybe one or two will join me in my flight. I want to fly with great open wings, my heart open as wide as my wings can go. Don’t try to stop me. These days nobody gets to clip my wings! I am soaring to new heights, please come along with me. It is a beautiful place we have , do not waste a moment. Soak it up each day. Somehow. Someway.

I do not always know where I am going or who will be coming with me, each day brings new surprises. I love when I look over at my side and see a friendly face smiling in my direction, that has decided to travel with me. Wont you?

Today I had lunch with a friend, I have watched him become an incredible human being. I always knew he would be. I saw a heart in him when he was quite young, a messy collage kid snagging dinner at my home. He was always welcome. I saw his heart then just as I do today.  He met a girl along the way and married her, she is a lucky gal for she married a heart of gold. They made a family, a beautiful one at that. I am proud to have watched from a distance as they made their way. They have painted their sky beautiful colors with warmth and struggles as well.I admire him. I and I get to sit and have lunch with him now and then and talk about days gone by and celebrate whats new. I love that. My life is rich, while not in dollars man who would be awesome as well. No, money has never meant much to me it, pays the bills and that is mighty important. What has always mattered to me was who you walked through life with and who would keep you warm on a cold night.

Who will dry your tears? 

Celebrate all that is good!

Who will sing with you, who will sing to you? I married a man who sings everything, even if it wasn’t a song somehow it becomes one. Some days it drives me insane ( well that’s what I tell him) truthfully I love it, for it means he too feels joy! He sings of sorrows but more often than not, he sings of love and sings of passion! How cool is that? Yes I married a man who can carry a tune , I will never tell him to stop singing because I see how happy it makes him. even on the bad days my husband sings! That makes me so happy.

Sing and sing it loud, even if you cannot carry a tune! Who care what you sound like ? I cannot carry a tune any longer but I sing . I sing LOUD inside my car inside, my shower. I sing while I move through my house. I do not care there is nobody here but me, well my dogs might cringe a little and my bird squawks a bit but then again maybe they are just singing with me and that is OK too!

“COME ON WITH THE RAIN THERE’S A SMILE ON MY FACE…….” HAPPINESS MAKES US DO SILLY THINGS, AND ISN’T IT GRAND?

This a picture of a favorite movie of mine “singing in the Rain” this moment is forever embedded in my brain.  All I can see is hope, happiness, a feeling that tingled to my toes. I want that! Don’t you? It is my belief anyone can have that. YOU HAVE TO EMBRACE AND ENDURE!

This has been such a moment in time, who knew Id be closing old doors and opening new ones all in one week! I said goodbye to many old friends and  welcomed others. This week I celebrate my daughter, she turns 25 , she will be exactly half my life!!!

Celebrating Life!

Celebrating Life!

This past weekend I saw some people who reminded me of why I named my middle daughter her name.  She carries  the name of a woman I loved more than my self!  She will be gone for exactly 22 years next month. I will talk about her a little another day.

Today I smile as I watch my daughter live the life she has embraced with “her person” at her side. I love him for all that he is and all that he makes her feel. They have endured and they understand what it means to embrace!

YOU GO GIRL! !

( thank you to “her person” for making my daughter’s life rich with love and adding color to her world, enriching the fabric of her life.Most importantly for being apart of her dreams, never stepping on them but rather making them come true!)

It is not perfect, nothing is .If you take the time to notice the little things in life you will turn around and see with great surprise just how amazingly beautiful this world is despite all that is hard, and sometimes downright UGLY!

Do the right thing! I cannot say that enough. It is not hard .it is simple. Just do what is right. make a little money and love with great abundance!

She entered the world screaming, full of life, with such fire in her eyes. Giving birth and  being born , nothing easy about that. Yet look what happens…. She keeps sailing, kicking and jumping for joy! She dances like nobody’s business. Steadfast and full of wonder she enriches the lives of those around her. Continuing  to remember that what matters in life is what you do,  how you do it . Enduring what is not always much fun , but knowing what lies ahead is an adventure to cherish .  All that she works for is worth the prize. HER LIFE .                  That makes me smile. I love what I see.

Roberta being beautiful!

Roberta being beautiful!

I love her.

Roberta, she understands what a journey life is. She aims high,climbs the mountains and sails across the waters, she gets knocked down , she brushes herself off pulls herself up by the boot straps and gets back up on the horse! My beautiful girl she rides the waves, she gets her hands dirty, she appreciates all that life has to offer.

I do not know how we did it, but we must have done something right.

When I see her all I can do is smile. I just feel proud.

My beautiful daughter and I.

My beautiful daughter and I.

We were both rather broken when this picture was taken but as you can see….

WE SMILE! WE LAUGH AFTER WE’VE CRIED. WE DON’T SETTLE WE COME OUT ON TOP!

Nothing in life is simple, it can be extraordinary trying some days. The trick is look up and see whats around us. Nothing short of amazing if you really look.

Don’t settle. Don’t judge.

Live the best life YOU can regardless of what you think others might be saying. People will always have something to say and the only one that matters is you!

So live and be the best YOU you can !

Work hard, make money and do the right thing.

Everything else will fall into place, I swear this to be true.

I have been saying for my entire life, you best like what you see when you look in the mirror so make your mirrors beautiful, make the image that reflects back at you BEAUTIFUL , AMAZING, STUNNING, GORGEOUS, OUTRAGEOUS, MAKE IT THE BEST YOU! THE YOU WANT TO SEE EACH AND EVERY DAY!

(Did you know that the most stunning , beautiful curve of a woman’s body is their smile? Its true. SO smile a little and then smile some more!)

HAPPY BIRTHDAY MY BEAUTIFUL MIRACLE, YOU MAKE MY LIFE RICH EACH AND EVERY DAY. I AM PROUD OF WHO YOU ARE AND HOW YOU LIVE YOUR LIFE. THANK YOU FOR GRACING THE LIFE I HAVE AND FOR MAKING THE WORLD A MUCH MORE BEAUTIFUL PLACE.

( I PROMISE I WONT SING THE BIRTHDAY SONG BUT I HOPE YOU DON’T MIND IF I WHISPER IT IN YOUR EAR. I CANT HELP CELEBRATING THE WONDERS OF MY LIFE! THIS MONTH I CELEBRATE YOU!)

Today I say thank you for coming with me on another day, today was a good day. I am tired and a little worn out but I am happy .

I don’t always appreciate the reflection I see, but I love who I see.

Remember to always keep your mirrors beautiful they reflect you.

Robin ~ a simple bird.

2 thoughts on ““Do what you feel in your heart to be right, for you’ll be criticized anyway.” -Eleanor Roosevelt

  1. Pingback: “Do what you feel in your heart to be right, for you’ll be criticized anyway.” -Eleanor Roosevelt | onebirdsview's Blog

Leave a Reply

