Aside

TUESDAY TEMPS TIME….

Time to turn back time!

Clocks turn back and for a moment is appears as if we have an extra hour, time doesn’t really turn back, it just keeps moving … unlike people it keeps moving. Time waits for no one. So keep up!

Grab a coffee and come sit with me…….wear warm slippers my floors are often mighty cold!

Let go of the Fall for Winter begins,it speaks to us telling us it is time to bundle up, batten down the hatches, bring down the storm windows, stock up on wood for the fireplace, turn on the heat for seasons have changed and time to keeps moving!

In order to carry out this you need two things. Time and Patience.

This time of the year finishes off the Fall Festivals, streaming Christmas in retail stores before anyone has considered the turkey the will need or the menu’s for Thanksgiving dinner. Christmas just keeps moving closer and closer. This year I have decided I wont be forced into an early Christmas. This year I am going Trick or Treating with my “Steve” ( mind-craft character) and her friends and their family, I am hopeful Grandpa gets to join us this year as well as my daughter.

This year my granddaughter is all about the trick and treating. She cannot wait! She has the perfect costume and bag all ready to collect 30 pieces of candy for her Auntie. She is on a mission this year!

When my children were young trick or treating was especially fun when they were on a mission to collect extra Tootsie Rolls for my best friend. SHE LOVES HER TOOTSIE ROLLS!

We no longer Trick or Treat at night,however my children and I loved it. These days, I am not sure if it’s about safety or if it is just the times… changing always.

Either way she will have a blast and I might even dress up and pull out my Witch dress and go out it and hobble through town with a little Dorothy this year. Sort of hopeful, though I am unsure if my body will hold out. We shall see.

I was thinking last night about what I might put down on paper this morning, and a theme seemed to be racing through my brain.

SPACE!

Personal space is one of those uncomfortable topics people get all weird-ed out and do not want to actually speak the needed words to scream BACK AWAY! There is a place and a time for all things. Personal space is a rare thing that should always be respected, though some people do not comprehend exactly what personal space actually means. For some it is a distance between the two talking members. For others it is not hovering over them. Then those that just need no DEMANDS when they arrive at home until they have switched gears changed their clothes and feel human and settled into their homes.  Then there are people who just want the phone to stop ringing, first thing in the morning before coffee has reached the part of the brain that finally speaks and says, Hello!  Then there are the night birds that wish to be quieted by the lull of the TV, a favorite program to snuggle up with their partners, or simply the kids are finally down for the night and it is a little quiet and peaceful moment to soak in a much over due bath, or curl up with a good book in the comforts of their beds or a favorite chair, my favorite place to read when I was young was a windowsill best light, just my size, and occasionally a furry friend might join me.

Sometimes personal space is best when shared with someone you just cannot let go of, for their personal space is mixed up best with your own.

Today my middle one popped over to have a cup of coffee and brought me a biscuit and we chatted and tried to fix my stupid phone. That is personal space-time spent exactly how I want to spend my time.

She is all grown now but this is the way I will always see her.

When the world is so busy and you spend your days giving to others all day long, a little needed time to fill up yourself so you have even more to give of yourself is terribly needed. Phone calls after a certain hour is just rude, it lacks the respect of someone else s personal time. No rules on how much or how often people are allowed to have such.We must own two things, patience and the ability to understand time. Each of us needs something different and often at different times.

Do you Remember when? Make memories that will last for eternity!

My personal time, is something I steal from my life, rarely is there a time when I am not doing something for someone else. Even though I am at home most of the time, it is alone time but not personal space-time. That is a huge difference. Laundry, shopping, cooking, cleaning, decorating, helping at school, doing homework with a small child, caring for my animals, their needs cannot be met without me.making dinners,( that I wont even eat). Listening to someone else s world fall apart, listening to a friend who is in need, trying to help comfort a soul that is aching and more often than not I really cannot help them, but I listen anyhow. By the end of my day I am empty, I have depleted the tank, much like a car, it runs out of gas, and until you refill it… it is just a fact, it wont budge!  Much like an automobile I too have nothing left to give anyone, becoming useless and frustrated because I am too stubborn to realize I have tanked out!  That usually means I have little or nothing left for me either.

Creating my own boundaries.

Be careful of other people’s personal space, as well as your own. It is needed by everyone, sometimes we intrude and do not mean to.

Boundaries are important, not always easy to define, and again it is a balance in life, you just need to find your footing and find what works for you.

Sometimes you may have to explain so that others can understand. Exercise your best patience, and be kind, some days it is harder than others to remember that most of the time people don’t bombard you because they mean to infringe, they just want to be with you. They think you have the answers they are searching for when the answers usually lie within themselves.  Maybe they are lonely or maybe they just miss you. Sometimes we do not mean to over stay our welcome, but often we do.

Creating my own boundaries and not feeling guilty about it.

Get ready, the fun is just beginning all the holidays come tumbling into the now!  Ready or not it’s coming!

SO GET READY!

Family and friends at Thanksgiving in my home!

This is my personal space, my happy place, the most wonderful time of the year! I do not have any plans of giving up this special, spectacular terrific, tantalizing, tasty, room full of laughter old stories and new ones and the people I love most in this world-wide universe. There are a few who are not able to join us, they are with us in spirit. Messy kitchen,  too many dishes,lots of pots and pans, we get to bring out the GOLD silverware! Don’t even ask it’s so silly, but yes we actually have gold-ware and we eat with it! A little snug at our table but we manage year after year making room for one or two more. I LOVE IT!

I am going to end today with this little tale.

No time like the present, spend it with those you love, allow yourself for a little personal space, making boundaries clear so you don’t feel mashed and smothered. Time is precious, spend it making memory making moments. One day when I am gone, those I have left will carry the memories we’ve made along the way. I want those memories to last through the next and the next generations. Give some to others who otherwise wont have, share a little of yourself and those memories will last a lifetime, long after we’re gone. The people do not always stay, the faces sometimes change,making new paths for themselves and allowing someone new to sit in a chair so many other have before them. New people to join and share the experience, but the memories we will make today, just as the ones we made a long time ago will last forever, so use the time wisely making sure to meet each moment with fresh eyes, and pull another chair over there is always room for one more.Make each space, each moment count!

Personal space for me is best when shared over a cup of coffee or snuggled up in bed with someone I love.

Thanks for coming with me today, and for entering my personal space.

Make a little time for yourself, and keep open arms for those you care about.

It’s a balance!

Use your time carefully, giving to others and to yourselves, be strong and steady, and choose wisely whose hand you want to hold.

Robin~ a smile bird……. finding my balance in life.

 

2 thoughts on “TUESDAY TEMPS TIME….

Leave a Reply

