IT’S COMING AROUND AGAIN……

March madness!

Yes it is March with warm weather trying to find its way to bring Spring back around, little bulbs trying to poke their way out through the cold hard ground. I am looking for my beautiful purple flowers to greet me each day.

 A lovely way to remember that the world has been washed clean and that life continues to bloom when the cold settles down and the sun begins to warm the Earth allowing Mother Nature to do her magic, showing off in all her glory. It is my favorite time of the year. It is amazing to know we are three weeks away from Spring and a pile of snow has mounted itself everywhere I look.

I am rather tired of icy roads, sidewalks, and just about everywhere I look. My driveway look like your driving into a cave with snow mounds on either side, it is an experience. Each day more snow arrives and my husband has found the new toy very helpful. snow blowing everywhere. 

I’d rather look at the beautiful tulips that bloom in a ray of colors, lining my back gate welcoming friends and family.

They make me smile.

Gardening used to be something I loved to do. These days the bending is not a game I can play. How I loved getting my hands in the dirt planting these little bulbs and waiting with anticipation of the beautiful blooms they would bring multiplying each year bringing beauty everywhere I look.

I prefer that to all this snow!

Well I know that many people watched The Oscars this weekend as silly as they may be, it is sort of tradition. I cannot help myself I love to watch people all dressed like Princesses and Princes off to The Ball.

It is the show.

I love Ellen!

While I did not see all the movies that were up for awards this year, I try to watch as many as I can. I confess I love movies.

I am a real fan of the old black and whites.

The days of Spencer and Tracy, Grant and Stewart, Ginger Rogers, Fred Astaire, Gene Kelly, Grace Kelly, oh how that list could go on and on… George burns and Gracie Allen, one of my most favorite couples ever on-screen.

Mr. Blandings Builds His Dream House!

The Philadelphia Story .

Spencer Tracy and Katherine Hepburn.

They made so many movies hard to count them…. I have seen each one, I am never tired of seeing them over and over, they always make me feel good.

Then there is an all time favorite which the folks in California are probably singing a lot these days…

 Singing in the Rain.

Do you know who this beautiful man was?

Okay I will give you a tiny hint….

Did that help?

One more time..

She was considered  scandalous for that time, I thought she was stunning.

Movie actors and actresses were classy, there was not all the garbage in the news about them . They were real movie stars. Their private lives were not news. When they were seen in public they were always dressed as the part they played a movie star .

Greta Garbo…

Stunning, beautiful, starlet. The picture of class and talent.

  She was untouchable.

Then of course there is my all time favorite George Burns and Gracie Allen. A love story for the books, a lifetime of love and hard work. George and Allen were married for many years. They adopted their children and it was unconventional at the time as George was Jewish and Gracie was Catholic . She made nice with her mother in law using Yiddish phrases which endeared her greatly to the Jewish mama. Gracie died when she was about 69 and George was to live until he turned 100! I was so touched at his reaction when his wife passed away from a heart attack. He was unable to sleep he missed his wife and partner in crime terribly. He wrote a book since he wasn’t sleeping about his love for her. He finally fell asleep when he found himself lying on his wife’s bed she slept in when she became very ill. At the end of every show George would come out on stage and say to his wife the lovely, smart and extremely talented and devoted wife, “Say goodnight Gracie.” ….and as always she replied ” Goodnight Gracie.”

Say Goodnight Gracie starring Alan Safier as George Burns ...

It has become my tag line for anything…. It doesn’t get much sweeter than that.

Everyone should have that love story with their person…. a love that lasted most of a lifetime.

More smiles than tears.  They laughed and danced.. they argued , they were the story we all dreamed of.

Again that is just my opinion.

Well I did. I got lucky I found my George… I am his Gracie.

In the end for George Burns he eventually found his way back to show business and lived out the rest of his life till he would meet his Gracie again…. and he lived his life well, always with a cigar in one hand a glass of scotch in the other. He died shortly after his 100th birthday. Id say he had lived a rich life.

George Burns - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

He eventually joined his wife and as much as I hate headstones and cemeteries this is one of the best I have ever seen, what a way to be remembered.

For me and maybe in part it is my age, this was the High Life , this was Hollywood, a world of movie stars , they made you laugh more often than cry, no sex, no foul language, just people living and sharing a life. Life is by far the funniest thing ever… day-to-day life is very funny…. George and Gracie embraced that.

I  try to remember that on the days that seem filled with more pain than pleasures.

As I tucked in the little one last night she asked me, “Grandma are you going to watch all the fancy ladies?” I said well of course! She giggled and replied back to me, all that glitter Grandma, fancy smancy… and proceeded to try and speak in what she thought was a Hollywood movie stars voice… It is the little things. I said “Good night Darling” in my most movie star voice I could manage.

My love!

My love!

So , I watched The Oscars with my best guy and I think the right man won for best actor. What a story and acting from this young fellow. I love that he’s been in the business for many years and his hard work and efforts gave him an award for telling a story and making us believe. He told the story that any shy away from, a time when many people were dying of Aids.  Lots of good movies out here to watch these days I suppose, but movies these days lack a certain something for me. I would rather read most of the time. I think movies in present time leave everything out on the screen leaving little for one’s imagination…. I don’t think that is always necessary. I believe it often takes away from what would have been a great story.

There are a few that always stand out. This year Matthew McConaughey won best actor for his role in Dallas Buyers Club. His acceptance speech was lovely. He was endearing.

From this handsome devil to this…

Hardly recognizable. A topic that most don’t want to touch. He played this role with such class.

It was Jared Leto however that truly touched my heart last night.

His speech was long but his humble self and his kind eyes sent chills down my spine.

He played a character that made him unrecognizable .

His spirit as his character is beautiful. He is talented beyond belief. Have you listened to his music?

” To the Academy, thank you. In 1971, Bossier City, Louisiana, there was a teenage girl who was pregnant with her second child. She was a high school dropout and a single mom, but somehow she managed to make a better life for herself and her children. She encouraged her kids to be creative, to work hard and to do something special. That girl is my mother and she’s here tonight. And I just want to say, I love you, Mom. Thank you for teaching me to dream. To my brother, Shannon, the best big brother in the world, you’re a true artist. Thank you so much for sharing this insane and amazing adventure that is 30 Seconds to Mars, and for being my best friend. I love you. Thank you.”

and if that was not enough to bring a tear to your eyes listening to a young man so humbled and proud he went on to say this..

“To all the dreamers out there around the world watching this tonight in places like the Ukraine and Venezuela, I want to say we are here and as you struggle to… to make your dreams happen, to live the impossible… We’re thinking of you tonight. And this is, is incredibly special as well because there’s so many people that helped me get here. And I just want to say thank you….”

…and this for the 36 million people who have lost the battle to AIDS and to those of you out there who have ever felt injustice because of who you are or who you love, tonight I stand here in front of the world with you and for you. Thank you so much and goodnight.”

I watched till the end, but my ” George and I decided to make midnight pizza homemade of course… why not?

and so we did….

It was a wonderful way to end the weekend .

My George and I eating pizza at midnight in bed!

….with that I will say, ” Say Goodnight Gracie”

Goodnight Gracie!

Again is just my opinion.

Thank you for coming with me today, if I have any words of wisdom it is this.

 It is the little things that count in the end. Making pizza at midnight, watching silly shows that show us time through the movies…. sharing a cup of coffee on a Sunday morning. Maybe staying in bed a little longer on a day off. Holding hands just because you can. 

My name is Robin and I am insanely, madly, crazy about my “George”. I want to shout from the rooftops how lucky I am to have this beautiful, handsome, wonderful man named Lyle, though inside my heart he will always be my “George”.

He calls me “Gracie” all the time.

Now I want to have coffee with you

Now I want to hear all your stories and tell you all of mine.

Now I want only you.

Now I am not just in love.

Now I am totally, incredibly, insanely, crazy in love with you!

Now I am off to fold laundry.

Life goes on…

Robin joi ~ a simple bird.

Leave a Reply

